Gottfried Michael Koenig’s “Voltage Control: Diagrams and Circuitry” (1974) available for download

Gottfried Michael Koenig’s reader Voltage Control: Diagrams and Circuitry (1974) is now available for download. The PDF and the sound examples mentioned in the reader can be found here.

From the introduction:

“This summary contains no information about how studio apparatus is built or how it works, and there are no recipes for sound production. The aim is a more or less systematic survey of the available apparatus and some possibilities of its application.

There are two chief tendencies in the development of electronic studios:
(a) the tendency towards the “construction kit” system: one special piece of apparatus is built for each function: complex functions can be obtained by connecting individual pieces of apparatus (e.g. Utrecht):
(b) the tendency towards the electronic music instrument: each individual piece of apparatus serves a complex purpose: the electronic music instrument thus represents a premeditated selection of all conceivable complex functions (e.g. synthesizer).
This summary will be limited to the first of these tendencies.”

Gabriel Paiuk guest speaker at UNM – Young Nordic Music Days

ACPA PhD Candidate Gabriel Paiuk will be guest speaker at the coming UNM – Young Nordic Music Days to take place in Aarhus, Denmark in August 2021.

Ung Nordisk Musik is an annual festival for young composers, sound artists, and performance artists based in any of the Nordic countries. In 2021 the festival takes place from the 9th to the 15th of August in Aarhus, Denmark. Since its beginning in 1946, UNM has been an important window for young, nordic music. On the occasion of its 75th year anniversary, this edition of the 2021 festival will include an overview of the most prominent sound installations presented in the festival in the last 15 years. Gabriel Paiuk has been invited to co-curate this exhibition and as a guest speaker. The theme of the 2021 festival is (un)common ground.

Below an abstract of the lecture Gabriel Paiuk will give in August 11th at Domen, Aarhus.

Plural grounds: Engaging with the audible 
Gabriel Paiuk 

In the realm of music and other sonorous practices, enquiring on the notion of a common ground prompts questions on the nature of the communicable. Leaving aside fantasies of transparent communication, the communicable can be addressed by tackling the way the audible is constituted. 
Discourses anchored on the notion of musical material seem unfit for this task, whereas postmodern perspectives seemingly more open to external conditions tend to fall flat as well, too often rooted on inherited categories – of linear history, of a dialectic understanding of institutions, of monolithic cultural assumptions – which they end up perpetuating.
Engaging with the audible implies engaging with the conditions in which audibilities are formed. Audibilities, understood as the capacity of listening to occur in a certain way, emerge as part of collective and material configurations. The diverse modalities in which they occur express the plural nature of listening. Practices of sound-making can engage with the audible by plunging into the collective realms which render acts of listening relevant.

Justin Bennett’s Sound Installation Class at WEST Den Haag: “Voor Ogen en Oren”

The results of Justin Bennett’s Sound Installation class 2020–2021 will be exhibited at WEST Den Haag on 11, 12 and 13 June 2021. Reservations are essential through the following link:

The exhibition will show works by Tristan Beutter, Lars Floris, Alec Gordon, Kim Ho, Siavash Jafari, Tornike Karchkhadze, Jerzy Klimczak, Farzaneh Nouri, Atte Olsonen and Ran Perry.

The title “Voor Ogen en Oren” refers to a pioneering exhibition “Für Augen und Ohren” or “Écouter par les yeux” from 1980. It brought together a spectrum of work from musicians, composers, inventors, conceptual artists where sound and image were equal partners. The idea of ‘sound art’ did not exist 40 years ago, but for artists these days addressing all the senses is now normal practice. 

This group of Sonology students have spent the last year investigating the connections and boundaries between the senses and asking questions like: What happens when you compose for visual vibrations? How does listening work underwater? How can we interact with digital life-forms? Can a computer dream about the city? How can you compose with time in an exhibition context?

Image: Knud Peter Petersen (detail of cover from catalogue Für Augen und Ohren).

Sonology and ArtScience students perform at streaming festival REVEIL 2021 on Saturday 1 May 2021

A laptop ensemble of four Sonology and ArtScience students will perform during the streaming festival REVEIL 2021 on Saturday 1 May 2021

The ensemble will elaborate live audio inputs streamed from Locus Sonus soundmap, a webmap providing a network of open microphones capturing audio from different locations spread around the globe, streaming 24/7.
Live audio streams are the source material. They are passed by each of the four performers through their own sonic toolbox. Through this process the sounds of the earth are boiled up, reduced and reshaped as music.

Livestream Band:
Max Baraitser Smith 
Andrejs Poikāns 
Giulia Francavilla 
Martin Hurych

Start: 01/05 18:30 CET 

listen to the streaming through this link:
full REVEIL festival programme here:

Online Edition of Moving Downstairs with a live-coding set by Giulia Francavilla (Rae) on 24 April 2021, 20:30

Moving downstairs is a bimonthly programme that focuses on concerts, auditory performances and experiments, immersive sound pieces and collective experiences. Depending on the setting, the audience might be seated, standing, dancing, behind a screen, or specifically placed inside the basement of The Grey Space in the Middle.

Programme: Yon Eta, Rae and Mint Park will each perform their personal auditory perspective on the ever-moving construct of time, streamed live from the basement of The Grey Space in the Middle. Pay as you like and join the livestream on Mixcloud on Saturday 24 April 2021, 20:30–22:00.

More information on and

The Institute of Sonology on Radio France Musique, Sunday 25 April 2021 at 23:30

On Sunday 25 April 2021, 23:30, François Bonnet’s radio programme L’Expérimentale presents a documentary by Alexandre Bazin about the Institute of Sonology on France Musique. Kees Tazelaar is interviewed by Alexandre Bazin. The programme will include music by Henk Badings, Gottfried Michael Koenig, Tom Dissevelt, Dick Raaijmakers, Jaap Vink, Ji Youn Kang, Gabriel Paiuk, Marie Guilleray, Richard Barrett, Bjarni Gunnarsson and Kees Tazelaar.